***** ALERT - Nominations for your new ClubCJ Committee can be made here *****

My new lightbar

HID's, Bulb's + LED Interior and Exterior Illumination.

Moderators: Moderators, Senior Moderators

Ljbyrne98
Lancer Learner
Lancer Learner
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 8:11 pm

Re: My new lightbar

Postby Ljbyrne98 » Sat Dec 23, 2017 10:13 am

Lancer1993 wrote:Dumb question but is there any easy way to test the spot lights I have?

Not used them in years and right now I've got nothing wired up but I might have enough bits to rig up something over the weekend.

They are GE sealed beams about 110mm across. (I'll post a photo later today)

EDITED... I checked this on last week, just to get an idea how it looks, last time I used it was with the coupe about 4 years ago!
Image


If you just to check if they work just touch the ends on a car battery terminal, if you've got 3 wires (a positive, a high beam ine (the one the switch is on) and an earth, just touch the earth on negative and the other two on positive). If you have a jump starter you can use that too.

Online
User avatar
Lancer1993
Post Monster
Post Monster
Posts: 3831
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 12:46 pm
Location: Caloundra
Contact:

Re: My new lightbar

Postby Lancer1993 » Sat Dec 23, 2017 11:40 am

Won't I need a rely for them to work? I'll have to dig through some stuff in the shed to see if I have the basic bits to rig up something this weekend. There is no reason they are not working, my only issue is there are a sealed beam with no seperate bulbs so could be pricy to replace. Thus the need for the covers to help prevent damage.

The goal would be to have the wiring set up with a switch on the dash and then I can hook up any lights I want.

I'm considering the 21.5" one from BCF, right now members can get it with wiring kit for $75.

Do LED light bars use a rely to make them work?
Image
My rides CJ VRX - CC coupe

User avatar
lancerdarryl
Lancer Legend
Lancer Legend
Posts: 1041
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 3:10 am
Location: Newcastle NSW Australia

Re: My new lightbar

Postby lancerdarryl » Sat Dec 23, 2017 11:54 am

You should always use a relay especially with conventional lamps as they draw a fair amount of current. ie 100 watts divided by 12 volts = 8.3 amps.LED's draw way less current but still use a relay ( and fuses) anyway to protect your wiring.Also using a relay prevents voltage drop to your light.
Those lights you have are pretty robust,they were a very popular choice in the rallying community for a long time.
Evolution X MR+ Lancer VRX Sportback +LA Lancer GSR
"Don't back off until you hit something"

bumblebee
Lancer Evolution
Lancer Evolution
Posts: 985
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 7:22 pm
Location: Australia

Re: My new lightbar

Postby bumblebee » Sat Dec 23, 2017 3:29 pm

Lancerdarryl is spot on ( sorry about the pun) with the relays and fuses. A good idea is to keep a spare relay or two and some fuses in the glovebox or boot. They are inexpensive and small and always blow at the least wanted time

User avatar
lancerdarryl
Lancer Legend
Lancer Legend
Posts: 1041
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 3:10 am
Location: Newcastle NSW Australia

Re: My new lightbar

Postby lancerdarryl » Sat Dec 23, 2017 3:59 pm

Never apologise for a pun....
Evolution X MR+ Lancer VRX Sportback +LA Lancer GSR

"Don't back off until you hit something"

Online
User avatar
Lancer1993
Post Monster
Post Monster
Posts: 3831
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 12:46 pm
Location: Caloundra
Contact:

Re: My new lightbar

Postby Lancer1993 » Sat Dec 23, 2017 10:57 pm

I have fuses, not normally worried about spare relays, maybe if on a long trip but unless you're in the middle of no where they're not hard to find.
Image

My rides CJ VRX - CC coupe

bumblebee
Lancer Evolution
Lancer Evolution
Posts: 985
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 7:22 pm
Location: Australia

Re: My new lightbar

Postby bumblebee » Sun Dec 24, 2017 8:38 am

I remember the scout motto i grew up with "be prepared "

Ljbyrne98
Lancer Learner
Lancer Learner
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 8:11 pm

Re: My new lightbar

Postby Ljbyrne98 » Tue Dec 26, 2017 6:30 pm

Lancer1993 wrote:Won't I need a rely for them to work? I'll have to dig through some stuff in the shed to see if I have the basic bits to rig up something this weekend. There is no reason they are not working, my only issue is there are a sealed beam with no seperate bulbs so could be pricy to replace. Thus the need for the covers to help prevent damage.

The goal would be to have the wiring set up with a switch on the dash and then I can hook up any lights I want.

I'm considering the 21.5" one from BCF, right now members can get it with wiring kit for $75.

Do LED light bars use a rely to make them work?



In Vic it's a legal requirement to use a relay. However you don't need a relay for it to work. Just connect to a battery to test


Return to “Lighting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests