***** ALERT - Nominations for your new ClubCJ Committee can be made here *****

installing HID's

HID's, Bulb's + LED Interior and Exterior Illumination.

Moderators: Moderators, Senior Moderators

chrisb
INACTIVE Member Account

installing HID's

Postby chrisb » Fri Jul 24, 2009 11:00 am

does anyone have HID's installed aftermarket?? what colour and which brand did you go for? i''m looking at going with 8000K bulbs and Xenon HID ballasts in a kit from the USA. any thoughts...

Bandit
Lancer Legend
Lancer Legend

Postby Bandit » Fri Jul 24, 2009 11:06 am

8000K won't let you see as much at night!

6000K is better.
ClubCJ's first Sportback

Graham
Post Monster
Post Monster

Postby Graham » Fri Jul 24, 2009 11:23 am

I have HID's installed in my car, i'll take some pics when I get home tonight.

It's basically plug-and-play from when I installed them, I've had zero experience with this stuff and I found it fairly easy.

I have an 8000k kit but when I have some spare $$ I'm going to change to 6000k globes.

Definately improves view at night by alot though, in my opinion it's worth it.
Four wheels move the body, two wheels move the soul.
ImageImage
Daily Driver: Yamaha R1
Weekend Warrior: BMW Z4 Roadster

krz
Alumni
Alumni

Postby krz » Fri Jul 24, 2009 12:12 pm

I have 10000k on and it looks good. however visibility is not as bright.
6000k is the highest visibility.. i believe

Brand-wise.. ive always bought it on ebay.. cost around $60-90 around there.. ive bought 4 in total.. for previous car and bros car. all worked fine. first one is still working after 3 years.

Graham
Post Monster
Post Monster

Postby Graham » Fri Jul 24, 2009 1:48 pm

Yeah I also bought an ebay kit for $99 including shipping, so far so good.

can you take a pic of the 10000k's? I'd like to see them on a lancer - If only brightness wasn't sacrificed for colour :p

ImageImage

billyboy
Lancer Evolution
Lancer Evolution

Re: installing HID's

Postby billyboy » Fri Jul 24, 2009 2:48 pm