***** ALERT - Nominations for your new ClubCJ Committee can be made here *****

Tarq's angel eyes... what a saga

HID's, Bulb's + LED Interior and Exterior Illumination.

Moderators: Moderators, Senior Moderators

Tarquin
Lancer Legend
Lancer Legend

Tarq's angel eyes... what a saga

Postby Tarquin » Sun Apr 26, 2009 11:27 pm

First up I will say, at this stage I have no pictures.... and in a lot of ways, I don't want to post any.... :roll:

Second..... Whoever says "it's easy to get the front number and headlights off a CJ Lancer", is either kidding themselves or a panel beater by trade... I didn't even undo my skid plate under the front to save on some time and effort.... lol

Third.... For the love of God...!! Check your angel eyes before you start the bumper and light removal, and baking.... processes!!
- or just do one Headlight housing and then check your angel eyes for them being the correct size and actual work.... i.e hook them up somehow...

I say this, as I believe the ones I have been delivered are the incorrect size for the CJ lancer's headlights, and to add insult to my installation, one of my large rings (lowbeam) does not even power on at all!!!!

(Box has a sticker that says BMW 140mm / 114mm..... blanka or Matty - what did your's say?)

I assume it was either DOA, or has been damaged in delivery or in the process of installation, before I power tested them....
** I recall being extra careful with them, so don't think it was broken here....

- I had already removed the bumper and the lights.... Took a while....
- I Baked them, and cracked them both open...... A very messy job with lots of options to serious damage the plastic around the surrounds with the jabbing and prizing and sticking with screwdrivers....
- Took a lot longer too, as the wife had hijacked the oven, and cranked it up to 180c and starting some baking.... :x So, I had to wait for that.... Plus, they were then a bit too big for my oven too, and had the door open a bit !!! lol