***** ALERT - Nominations for your new ClubCJ Committee can be made here *****

Replace Instrument Cluster

Lancer Interior Modifications.

Moderators: Moderators, Senior Moderators

User avatar
Quismiff
Lancer Evolution
Lancer Evolution
Posts: 768
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2017 8:37 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Replace Instrument Cluster

Postby Quismiff » Mon Jul 16, 2018 9:17 am

dopey also has a MUT III... is there more we need to know about you dopey? a side from your tech wizardry, and awesomness for that dash surround :lol: (sorry I wasn't more accommodating, will have to organise another members and families catchup when this weather gets a bit nicer).

I looked at a few you tube videos for this unit that supposedly does this through the OBD port, but it is almost as expensive as a MUT unit, and doesn't change the last number correctly as most people have found with the asicc method and eprom reprogramming. Could you get around that by trying random numbers till it came up right? Saw one vid where the guy had a full on workbench with the odo cluster powered up to demonstrate the method... still more tools than i have available right now :lol:
2007 MY08 VR-X (cj-red)

I'm an eccentric smart-arse whose sarcasm has him perpetually in the s#@!.

dopey
Lancer Newbie
Lancer Newbie
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2012 5:10 pm
Location: Victoria

Re: Replace Instrument Cluster

Postby dopey » Mon Jul 16, 2018 4:38 pm

Quismiff wrote:dopey also has a MUT III... is there more we need to know about you dopey? a side from your tech wizardry, and awesomness for that dash surround :lol: (sorry I wasn't more accommodating, will have to organise another members and families catchup when this weather gets a bit nicer).


Indeed I do :lol:

Quismiff wrote:I looked at a few you tube videos for this unit that supposedly does this through the OBD port, but it is almost as expensive as a MUT unit, and doesn't change the last number correctly as most people have found with the asicc method and eprom reprogramming. Could you get around that by trying random numbers till it came up right? Saw one vid where the guy had a full on workbench with the odo cluster powered up to demonstrate the method... still more tools than i have available right now :lol:


actually I had a play with the odometer today, this time I got a reading from a lower km cluster and adjusted it up. Seemed to work with the DTC gone! I don't think having a few kms off will cause any dramas, just drive around the block a few times :lol:

The problem is being a newer cluster in an early CJ it wouldn't let me program the service schedule (as in distance/time to next service). when I plugged in the old cluster it would.

Online
User avatar
Lancer1993
Genius
Genius
Posts: 4263
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 12:46 pm
Location: Caloundra
Contact:

Re: Replace Instrument Cluster

Postby Lancer1993 » Mon Jul 16, 2018 4:43 pm

Interesting, my CJ is due for a service at the dealer (part of the used car extended warranty agreement, long story) Anyway its set for 135k right now and I'm pretty sure it had been changed at the last service, but I had changed my cluster over 2 years ago and its had at least 2 services in that time. No known issues with them changing the service settings. Might need to just ask them when I book it in.
Image
My rides CJ VRX - CC coupe

User avatar
Quismiff
Lancer Evolution
Lancer Evolution
Posts: 768
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2017 8:37 pm
Location: Melbourne
Contact:

Re: Replace Instrument Cluster

Postby Quismiff » Mon Jul 16, 2018 4:57 pm

Does the MUTIII unit allow you to adjust it to the exact km though? I would imagine it would as a cluster change while hopefully not required could be a possible fault for whatever reason. and also allow you to change the VIN surely?

I am curious as I have considered changing to the colour unit from an ASX or Outlander, but am hesitant given the haphazardness of changing the ODO reading, and finding one with nearly 270XXXkm is proving difficult, i mean seriously, why can't people drive their nice cars to a reasonable mileage before stacking them :lol:
2007 MY08 VR-X (cj-red)

I'm an eccentric smart-arse whose sarcasm has him perpetually in the s#@!.

dopey
Lancer Newbie
Lancer Newbie
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2012 5:10 pm
Location: Victoria

Re: Replace Instrument Cluster

Postby dopey » Mon Jul 16, 2018 5:09 pm

unfortunately no, I believe you can only set it if it's under a certain number of kms, or blank. It won't allow you to change the VIN either, though it may be because it's a used cluster. or it could be because mine is an early (2008) CJ, whereas the cluster is out of a 2012 model.

I know Fords only allow you to change kms only if the cluster is reading under 25kms or something around that.

Online
User avatar
Lancer1993
Genius
Genius
Posts: 4263
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 12:46 pm
Location: Caloundra
Contact:

Re: Replace Instrument Cluster

Postby Lancer1993 » Mon Jul 16, 2018 6:25 pm

My cluster if from and Outlander and now just over 133000kms.

My cluster was changed by a guy I found in Brisbane, think I checked online. Anyway he could not get it exact and I think its like a few hundred kms out, wrote it down some place to keep a record. Mine had to be set back to around 106000kms, don't remember what it had on it.

Short story it can be done, might cost a bit depending who you find and you might need to sign something to say why its being wound back, if it needs to be set back.

The amazing thing I found if you could in theory get a cluster, switch it over, run the car for years then switch it back and suddenly you're in a low mileage(killermeterage?) CJ and sell it at a higher price. And its so easy to make the switch... not that I'm condoning it, its just amazingly easy to do.

UPDATE - mine is 482km less than its true reading. Still with over 133k done its nothing.
Image
My rides CJ VRX - CC coupe


Return to “Interior”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests